In the land of Cotton, Tennessee

Driving through Tennessee the fields were white – at first I thought it was snow. It turned out to be cotton. The Land of Cotton sounds like a theme park… I assure you it is not  -it is in fact an Elvis lyric! (10 points if you know what song…?!)

Cotton FieldsMy boyfriend was driving for the first time in America (ie. on the “wrong” side of the road, in an automatic car!). He tried the quiet roads near our hotel in Memphis and once he was comfortable with the car he drove on the 4-lane highway! He took to it like a fish to water and I was impressed! It took the pressure off me and meant I could recline my seat and watch the world go by 🙂

Lorries 1I’ve never spent much time considering where lorry drivers wash, but this conundrum was solved on this trip – at a service station (I think the American phrase is “truck stop”) the lorry drivers register for a shower and they call out “Number 5, your shower is ready”! Not sure if they do this in the Uk?

We stopped on the outskirts of Jackson, Tennessee, to look at the Baseball pitch. I’ve seen them in the movies before obv, but I’d never seen one in real life before so wanted a peek, and it was really exciting and um, just like in the movies!

Baseball GroundWe continued to wend our way through Tennessee, gaining mild excitement from the names of small towns named after their European counterparts ( “We’re in Milan!!”   “C’est Paris!”).

Next blog: Paris, Tennessee

Previous blog: Civil Rights in Memphis, USA

Have you been here? Or is it on your "Bucket List"?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.